Belagavi: The first phase of the Gram Panchayat elections will be notified on Monday (Dec. 7) and the second phase will be held on Friday (Dec. 11) said Deputy Commissioner MG Hiremath.
He made this statement at a press conference on Sunday at his office. He further said that ‘the process of accepting the nomination papers will begin after the notification is issued. December 11 will be the last day for the first stage of filing a nomination; December 16 for the second stage. December 12 last date to the first stage of the verification of the nomination papers and December 17 for the second stage. The last day for the withdrawal of the nomination for the first phase is December 14 and December 19 for the second phase. The first phase elections will be held on December 22 and the second phase will be held on December 27.
The counting of votes will take place in the respective taluka’s on December 30 from 8 am. If there are any irregularities related to the election found, the public can give information to the Control Room, Police or Excise Department Control Room, which is set up in the office said DC Hiremath.
The election for 477 Gram Panchayats:
Out of a total of 499-gram panchayats in the district, of which term expires by the end of December 2020, elections will be held in two phases for 477 panchayats. 8195 members will be elected from 2738 wards. Arrangements have been made to accept nomination papers in the concerned Gram Panchayats.
25.24 lakh voters in the district:
A total of 25,24,181 voters, including 12,84,695 males and 12,39,486 females, will be voting in the current Gram Panchayat elections, the district collector said. A total of 534 election officers and 576 assistant election officers have been appointed for the election process.
Code of Conduct will be effective till December 31:
The Code of Conduct will be in effect from November 31st to December 31st within the range of the Gram Panchayats where the election will take place. Hiremath added that the code of conduct would not apply to municipalities and urban areas.
Police Commissioner Dr Thyagarajan, Zilla Panchayat Chief Executive Officer Darshan HV, SP Laxman Nimbaragi and Additional District Officer Ashoka Dudagunti were present at the press conference.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *